Message from Louisa Napaljarri Lawson

“I get my Dreamings from my Grandmother. All come from the Kunajarrayi area. It all started in the beginning. All the women came camping in this place. Kunajarrayi is a magical place where there are many Dreaming tracks. I have four Dreamings they are the Witchetty Grub, Larrikin Lizard, Milky Way and the Stars, and Women’s Dreaming. Sometimes I take Dreamings from my Father’s side. “Mala” the small wallaby you know, my Dreamings are my paintings. . . I have special paintings. People can’t take them, they belong to my skin. Napaljarri and Nungarrayi.

I am old now and my legs are no good – I used to dance at ceremonies but now I help to do the ceremonial paintings for the other women in the dance. My paintings are very important. Maybe one kid from school will see them and they will make him a man through the ceremonies – these are for public ceremonies. I have Dreamings for the private ceremonies, secret ones that only some people can see. These are for young girls to turn them into young women. First they must learn these Dreamings. They learn them little bit at a time, not all at once.”

(Louisa Napaljarri Lawson, 1991 conversation with Vivian Anderson)

Kurdiji 1.0 indigenous suicide prevention app is crowdfunding at www.kurdijiproject.com, please support us if you can.LS0036

(Photograph by Judith Crispin)

Leave a Reply

